Logo UHasselt





Logo UHasselt Universiteit Hasselt - Knowledge in action


Support for PhD candidates is organised at Hasselt University in three doctoral schools, which offer clear guidelines to and organise activities for young researchers, such as training sessions and workshops on both discipline-specific and cross-discipline and generic skills, career development, and the strengthening of the international orientation of PhD candidates. Other researchers, such as postdocs, can also make use of this framework.

The support is partly made possible by the Flemish government subsidy for the organisation of activities to support young researchers. Each of the doctoral schools sets minimum requirements that need to be met before the PhD defence can take place. You will find all relevant information on the website of the doctoral school to which your faculty belongs.


Faculty of Architecture and Arts
Faculty of Business Economics
Faculty of Law
School of Educational Studies

Doctoral School Behavioral Sciences & Humanities

Faculty of Medicine and Life Sciences
Faculty of Rehabilitation Sciences 

Doctoral School Health & Life Sciences

Faculty of Engineering Technology 
Faculty of Sciences 
School of Transportation Sciences

Doctoral School Sciences & Technology

Dr Hans Nickmans is the faculty liaison for the doctoral schools. This implies that he is the contact person when it comes to the operations of the three specific doctoral schools, as well as the doctoral school requirements. Dr Ilse Van Damme coordinates the course offer with respect to generic skills and career management. She is the contact person when it comes to skills and career development of junior researchers.