Logo UHasselt




Logo UHasselt Universiteit Hasselt - Knowledge in action


The framework for PhD candidates is organised at Hasselt University in three doctoral schools. They guarantee that within this framework activities are organised for young researchers, such as trainings and workshops on discipline-specific and cross-cutting skills, career development, and the strengthening of the international orientation of PhD candidates. Other researchers, such as postdocs, can also make use of this framework.

The framework is realised in part by the subsidy for the framework of the organisation of activities for young researchers of the Flemish government. Each of the doctoral schools establishes minimum requirements that need to be met before the PhD defence can take place. You will find al the relevant information on the website of the doctoral school to which your faculty belongs.

Doctoral Schools Hasselt University

Faculty of Architecture and Arts
Faculty of Business Economics
Faculty of Law

DS Behavioral Sciences & Humanities
Faculty of Medicine and Life Sciences DS Medicine & Life Sciences
Faculty of Engineering Technology
Faculty of Sciences
School of Transportation Sciences
DS Sciences & Technology

The coordinators of the doctoral schools are dr. Ilse Van Damme (Doctoral School of Behavioral Sciences & Humanities) and dr. Stefanie Kerkhofs (Doctoral School for Medicine & Life Sciences and Doctoral School of Sciences & Technology). The person responsible for the administration within the doctoral schools is Sophie Indestege.