Logo UHasselt


Doctoral School of Behavioral Sciences & Humanities

General information

Doctoral School of Behavioral Sciences & Humanities

Logo UHasselt Universiteit Hasselt - Knowledge in action


The Doctoral School of Behavioral Sciences & Humanities is a joint initiative of

  • the Faculty of Architecture and Arts,
  • the Faculty of Business Economics,
  • the Faculty of Law.

The Doctoral School Board consists of a member of each of these faculties. One of them is appointed as director. Together with a coordinator, the board is responsible for the daily functioning of the doctoral school (organise courses, quality control, evaluate the individual program of PhD students, decide about possible exceptions, etc). For decisions about the curriculum and evaluation of individual programs, the board is advised by a separate management team for each faculty.

Prof. Dr Sandra Streukens is the current director of the doctoral school.

The coordinator / policy advisor, Dr Ilse Van Damme, is responsible for all communication with PhD students and postdocs, as well as for the coordination of all planned activities.

The figure below depicts the different management levels and the people representing these levels.


All professors in this overview are appointed for four years, starting from academic year 2013-2014, except for Kris Braekers and Robert Malina who joined the management team in 2016 and Steven Van Garsse who joined the management team in 2017.

The representatives of PhD students and postdocs are appointed for two years (starting from 2017) and are not allowed to participate in discussions about personal matters or individual cases.