Logo UHasselt




Logo UHasselt Universiteit Hasselt - Knowledge in action



It is our great pleasure to invite you to the 55th OBFS annual meeting. The meeting will be hosted for the first time in Europe, by the University of Hasselt, Belgium and will take place from the 9th to the 15th of September 2019.

The meeting will be the 55th edition of a long standing and successful series starting in Minnesota in 1966.

It will be a multidisciplinary event, gathering scientists from fields such as environmental biology, plant physiology and genetics, system biology, ecology, biochemistry, agronomy and soil sciences from all across the world. Expect to learn quite a bit and have interesting discussions.

The meeting will deal with such pressing matters as … , which can …

The conference will be held at the “Hoge Kempen National Park” Maasmechelen at the Field Research Centre. Click here to register for the 2019 Meeting.

The 2020 OBFS annual meeting is proposed to be held at LocationDate

Previous OBFS Meetings

2018 Schoodic Institute at Acadia National Park, Maine
2017  Itasca Biological Station and Laboratories in Lake Itasca, Minnesota
2016  Sitka Sound Science Center in Sitka, Alaska
2015  Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory in Gothic, Colorado
2014 Marine Biological Laboratories, Woods Hole, MA (Joint Meeting with NAML, the National Association of Marine Laboratories.)
2013 Southwestern Research Station in Portal, Arizona
2012 Archbold Biological Station
2011 Bodega Marine Lab, UC-Davis
2010  University of Michigan Biological Station in Pellston, Michigan
2009 La Selva Biological Station, OTS, Costa Rica
2008 Black Rock Forest, NY, Black Rock Forest Consortium.
2007 Llano River Field Station, Texas Tech
2006 Flathead Lake Biological Station, Univ of Montana 
2005 Coweeta Hydrologic Lab, USFS & Highlands Biological Station, Univ. North Carolina
2004 Shoals Marine Lab, Cornell Univ and Univ of New Hampshire 
2003 Kananaskis Field Station, Calgary Univ
2002 Kellogg Biological Station, Michigan State Univ 
2001 Univ of Oklahoma Biological Station, Univ of Oklahoma 
2000 HJ Andrews Experimental Forest, USFS and Oregon State Univ.
1999 Mountain Lake Biological Station, Univ of Virginia
1998 Archbold Biological Station, FL,
1997 Oregon Institute of Marine Biology, Univ of Oregon
1996 White Mountain Research Station, UC-Riverside
1995 Treehaven, Univ of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
1994 Flathead Lake Biological Station, Univ of Montana
1993 Adirondack Ecological Center, SUNY-ESF, Syracuse, NY
1992 Malheur Field Station, OR, Malheur Station Consortium
1991 La Selva Biological Station, OTS, Costa Rica
1990 Itasca Biological Station and Laboratories, Univ of Minnesota
1989 Rocky Mountain Biological Laboratory, CO 
1988 Hog Island, Maine, Audubon Soc 
1987 Bodega Marine Laboratory, UC-Davis
1986 Cedar Point Biological Station, Univ of Nebraska
1985 Hancock Biological Station, KY, Murray State Univ 
1984 Bamfield Marine Science Centre, Vancouver Is, BC 
1983 Mountain Research Station, Univ of Colorado
1982 Univ of Michigan Biological Station, Univ of Michigan
1981 EN Hyuck Preserve and Biological Research Station, Rensselaerville, NY, Private
1980 Southwestern Research Station, American Museum of Natural History, NY, NY
1979 Archbold Biological Station, FL
1978 Eagle Lake Biological Field Station, Chico State Univ, CA (now UC-Davis)
1977 Pymatuning Laboratory of Ecology, Univ of Pittsburgh
1976 Delta Marsh Field Station, Univ of Manitoba 1975 Iowa Lakeside Lab, Univ of Iowa
1975 Iowa Lakeside Lake, University of Iowa
1974 Kellogg Biological Station, Michigan State Univ
1974 Univ of the Pacific Marine Station, Dillon Beach, CA (Feb 74)
1973 EN Hyuck Preserve and Biological Research Station, Rensselaerville, NY, Private
1972 Lake Itasca Biological Station (now Itasca Biological Station and Laboratories), University of Minnesota
1971 Pingree Park, Colorado State University
1970 Indiana University  
1969 Flathead Lake Biological Station, Univ of Montana
1968 Stone Laboratory, Ohio State Univ 
1967 Lake Texoma Biological Station (now Univ of OK Bio Sta), Univ of Oklahoma
1966 Cedar Creek Natural History Area (now C.C. Ecosystem Science Reserve), Univ of Minnesota Program