Research

Hoofding 3 Hoofding 3

The MS disease process is studied on several levels: immunology, neuroscience, nutrition, exercise, clinical effectiveness of medication, multi-disciplinary rehabilitation, biomarkers, etc. These projects are embedded in partnerships within Hasselt University (e.g. Data sciences, mobile health), in Flanders (FWO sceintific research community MS) and through various international partnerships (MS Data Alliance, RIMS, EURON,...).

In addition, the rehabilitation department of Noorderhart has been participating in several research projects at Hasselt University and often organizes national and international workshops together with the university.

Professors performing MS research, the research coordinator of the UMSC and 2 neurologists working in Noorderhart Pelt are organised in a so called research platform. Prof.dr. Veerle chairs this platform, supported by one of the regional coordinators of the UMSC, dr. Kim Pannemans. Researchers within this platform meet on a regular basis and advise the steering committee which research projects will be developed. In addition they work together on new and existing research projects and set up new collaborations with pharmaceutical companies and other partners.

Below you can find an overview of all professors involved in MS research

Prof. dr. Bart Van Wijmeersch

Neurology
Neuroimmunology
Neurorehabilitation
Multiple Sclerosis
Clinical research

bart.vanwijmeersch@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Bert Op't Eijnde

Exercise physiology
Muscle contractile properties
Sports medicine
Exercise is medicine
Preventive medicine

bert.opteijnde@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Bieke Broux

Neuroinflammation
Blood brain barrier
Multiple sclerosis
T cells
Flow Cytometry

bieke.broux@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Jeroen Bogie

jeroen.bogie@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Jerome Hendriks

Innate immunity
Multiple sclerosis
Neuroinflammation
Remyelination
Lipid metabolism

jerome.hendriks@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. ir. Liesbet Peeters

Multiple Sclerosis
Real-world data
Big data
Data science

liesbet.peeters@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Markus Kleinewietfeld

VIB Center for Inflammation Research

markus.kleinewietfeld@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Niels Hellings

Neuroimmunology
T cells
Data science
Aging
Repair

niels.hellings@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Peter Feys

Rehabilitation
Cognition
Fatigue
Pain
Movement

peter.feys@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Piet Stinissen

Life sciences
Immunology
Autoimmune disease
Multiple Sclerosis
Translational research

piet.stinissen@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Tim Vanmierlo

Cognition
Remyelination
Phosphodiesterase
Multiple sclerosis
Alzheimer's disease

tim.vanmierlo@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Veerle Somers

Autoantibodies
Biomarkers
cDNA phage display
B cell profiling and function
Rheumatoid arthritis
Axial spondyloarthritis
Multiple sclerosis
Spinal cord injury
Autism spectrum disorder

veerle.somers@uhasselt.be

Prof. dr. Veronica Popescu

Neurology
Demyelination
Multiple Sclerosis
MRI
Palliative care

veronica.popescu@uhasselt.be