emr Connect (ECON)

emr connect is an Interreg V-A-project to support cross-border cooperation in the area of transportation.

EMR Connect EMR Connect
Adobestock 140696138

The Interreg Community Initiative, or Interreg for short, is a European programme funded by the European Union, in particular the European Regional Development Fund, which seeks to promote cooperation between regional areas in different countries.

Under the auspices of the Aachener Verkehrsverbund (AVV), 14 partners (Aachener Verkehrsverbund, Stadt Aachen, ASEAG, RWTH Aachen University, Province of Limburg, Parkstad Limburg, Arriva Passenger Transport, Deutschsprachige Gemeinschaft Belgiens, TEC, De Lijn, NMBS, Liège Europe Metropole, Université de Liège, University of Hasselt) from the Euregio Meuse-Rhine (Germany, Belgium, Netherlands) including IMOB - UHasselt work together on measures to improve cross-border public transport.

The aim of the project is to take concrete measures in the field of cross-border mobility in the Meuse-Rhine Euroregion. To this end, transport companies, public transport authorities, governments and universities are cooperating and forming a powerful consortium within the framework of EMR Connect. This will strengthen cross-border local transport and contribute to better networking of the sub-regions in the Euregio Maas-Rhine.

To create a sustainable network, EMR Connect tackles existing challenges in cross-border local transport. These range from improvements in fares and services, digitalisation in the area of ticket and passenger information to the use of e-buses and the networking of different modes of transport. The integration of three universities strengthens networking in the education and knowledge region. The implementation of the measures within these subject areas will make the Euregio Maas-Rhine more attractive as a border region.

Would you like to know more? Visit the project website emr-connect.eu.

Zoekverkeer (1)


Fourteen partners of the emr connect project:

  1. Aachener Verkehrsverbund GmbH (coördinator)
  2. Stadt Aachen
  3. Aachener Strassenbahn und Energieversorgungs-AG
  4. RWTH Aachen University
  5. Provincie Limburg
  6. Arriva Personenvervoer Nederland BV
  7. Stadsregio Parkstad Limburg
  8. De Duitstalige Gemeenschap van België
  9. Vlaamse Vervoersmaatschappij De Lijn
  11. Universiteit Hasselt - IMOB
  12. Université de Liège
  13. TEC Liège-Verviers


Verplichte Logo's

The following organisations provide co-financing for the emr connect project:

  • Région wallonne
  • Provincie Limburg (B)
  • Provincie Limburg (N)
  • Land NRW