TEAM & CONTACT

research@uhasselt.be

Intern Research Policy Unit

Ken Haenen 26B

Ken Haenen

Vice Rector of Research

T: 011 26 88 75
E: ken.haenen@uhasselt.be

2022 Sadia Vancauwenbergh

Sadia Vancauwenbergh

Director Research, Library and Internationalisation (OBI)
2019 DOC 06 Chris Bleus

Chris Bleus

Secretary assistant Directorate Research, Library and Internationalisation

- General Secretary

T: 011 26 90 42
E: chris.bleus@uhasselt.be

2022 OBI Elke Bos

Elke Bos

Staff Member Intern Research Policy Unit

- Special Research Fund (BOF): management and calls

T: 011 26 90 53
E: elke.bos@uhasselt.be

2022 Lieve Tulleneers

Lieve Tulleneers

Staff Member Intern Research Policy Unit

- Special Research Fund (BOF): management and calls
- Secretary Research Council

T: 011 26 90 41
E: lieve.tulleneers@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC 04 Martien Braekers

Martien Braekers

Assistant Intern Research Policy Unit

- File management Special Research Fund (BOF)
- Support OBI

T: 011 26 80 43
E: martien.braekers@uhasselt.be

2022 OBI Clara Smolders

Clara Smolders

Assistant Intern Research Policy Unit

- File management Special Research Fund (BOF)
- Support research council

T:011 26 83 17
E: clara.smolders@uhasselt.be

Research Funding Unit

2022 Ellen Van Cutsem

Ellen Van Cutsem

Coordinator Research Funding Unit

- Research Policy
- External research funding
- National and international funding channels
- Liaison network organisations (EARMA, CrowdHelix, ...)

T: 011 26 89 95
E: ellen.vancutsem@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC 08 Annelies Stockmans

Annelies Stockmans

Staff member Research Funding Unit

- Project funding: EFRO, Interreg EMR, Interreg North Sea Region, GVN
- Mandate funding: FWO, VLAIO, BELSPO, Horizon Europe ERC

T: 011 26 80 70
E: annelies.stockmans@uhasselt.be

2022 Ilse Das

Ilse Das

Staff Member Research Funding Unit

- Research Infrastructure: FWO infrastructure & Horizon Europe Infra
- Technology platforms
- International mobilities: FWO travel grants & Horizon Europe MSCA; Other research mobilities

T: 011 26 80 98
E: ilse.das@uhasselt.be

2022 Sarah Syr

Sarah Szyr

Staff Member Research Funding Unit

- Project funding: FWO, VLAIO & BELSPO
- Grants from government agencies

T:+32 11 26 90 52
E: sarah.szyr@uhasselt.be

Dennis Vanden Auweele

Staff Member Research Funding Unit

- Horizon Europe: clusters/missions + EIC Pathfinder
- Funding from the other DGs: Digital Europe, EU4Health, IHI, RFCS, ...

T: +3211268286 
E: dennis.vandenauweele@uhasselt.be

Carine Ulenaers

Assistant Research Funding Unit

- Support project applications
- Support informing & encouraging researchers

T:  +3211268950
E: carine.ulenaers@uhasselt.be

PhD and Responsible Research Innovation Unit

2019 DOC 55 Stefanie Kerkhofs

Stefanie Kerkhofs

Coordinator PhD and Responsible Research & Innovation (RRI)

- PhD policy
- Ombuds
- Doctoral schools
- Responsible Research & innovation (RRI)
- VAIA (Vlaamse AI Academy)

T: 011 26 80 18
E: stefanie.kerkhofs@uhasselt.be

2022 OBI Kirsten Braem

Kirsten Braem

Staff Member PhD and Responsible Research Innovation Unit

- Doctoral schools policy
- Discipline-specific course offer doctoral schools
- Faculty liaison doctoral schools

T: 011 26 83 71
E: kirsten.braem@uhasselt.be

2022 OBI Rosanne Ceuppers

Rosanne Ceuppens

Staff Member PhD and Responsible Research Innovation Unit

- Doctoral schools policy
- Generic course offer doctoral schools
- Career development young researchers (in collaboration with career center)
- Internal trainer

T: 011 26 86 20
E: rosanne.ceuppens@uhasselt.be

2022 Lia Vanhoef

Lia Van Hoef

Staff Member PhD and Responsible Research Innovation Unit

- Doctoral schools policy
- Specific doctoral schools courses (generic, discipline-specific and career)
- Doctoral schools' mobility call
- Specific doctoral schools projects: PhDrinks, buddy trajectory, gender & diversity seminar, DS communication (newsletters, facebook,...)

T: 011 26 80 17
E: lia.vanhoef@uhasselt.be

2022 Eva Rodiers

Eva Rodiers

Assistant PhD and Responsible Research Innovation Unit

- Administrative and logistic support doctoral schools

T: 011 26 90 04
E: eva.rodiers@uhasselt.be

Jeroen Wynen

Coordinator VAIA & FLAMES

- Doctoral schools
- Professional education

T: 011 26 82 44
E: jeroen.wijnen@uhasselt.be

2022 Sophie Indesteege

Sophie Indestege

Staff Member PhD and Responsible Research Innovation Unit

- Joint PhDs
- PhD policy
- My Doctoral File

T: 011 26 80 44
E: sophie.indestege@uhasselt.be

2022 Stephanie Ruysschaert

Stephanie Ruysschaert

Staff Member PhD and Responsible Research Innovation Unit

- Responsible Research & innovation (RRI)
- Research data management
- GDPR in research

T: 011 26 89 66
E: stephanie.ruysschaert@uhasselt.be

2022 Debbie Melissas

Debbie Melissas

Legal Officer Intern Research Policy unit

- Legal support:
Applications and tenders in the context of subsidized research
Collaboration agreements with academic partners in the context of joint supervision or certification of doctorates
Framework agreements for research with academic partners
GDPR regulation in the context of research
Author rights

T: 011 26 86 45

E: debbie.melissas@uhasselt.be

Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

2019 DOC 23 Hanne Poelmans

Hanne Poelmans

Coordinator Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- University Rankings
- Open Science
- FRIS research portal
- Databases, data-analyses and reporting
- Contract management

T: 011 26 91 76
E: hanne.poelmans@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC 51 Katya Derwael

Katya Derwael

Teammember Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- Coördinator contract registration and management

T: 011 26 85 75
E: katya.derwael@uhasselt.be

2022 Agatha Andrzejewski

Agatha Andrzejewski

Assistant Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- Contract registration and management

T: 011 26 86 59
E: agatha.andrzejewski@uhasselt.be

2022 OBI Gamze Oncel

Gamze Oncel

Assistant Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- Contract registration and management

T: 011 26 83 27
E: gamze.oncel@uhasselt.be

Jolien Berckmans

Jolien Berckmans

Staff Member Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- RDM Steward
Faculty: ARK, BEW, REC
Schools: SES, SvM
Institute: DSI
Center: EDM, IMOB

T: 011 26 93 98
E: jolien.berckmans@uhasselt.be

2022 OBI Nicky Daniels

Nicky Daniels

Staff Member Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- RDM Steward
Faculty: WET, IIW
Institute: IMO-IMOMEC, CMK

T: 011 26 83 02
E: nicky.daniels@uhasselt.be

Sören Kuypers

Staff Member Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- Business analysis
- Management of processes and databases

T: 011 26 89 98
E: soren.kuypers@uhasselt.be

Amr Ali-Eldin

ECOOM Project leader Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- Interoperability
- Information modelling
- FRIS research portal
- Metadata standards & classifications
- Indicator development
- Interdisciplinarity

T: 011 26 83 33 
E: amr.alieldin@uhasselt.be

Lise Van der Eecken

Assistant Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- Support UHasselt research databases
- Data analysis and reporting
- University rankings
- Partner database

T: 011 26 90 54
E: lise.vandereecken@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC 64 Simon D'haenens

Simon D'haenens

Staff Member Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- Strategic data analysis and policy advice
- Data curation for datasets

T: 011 26 81 61
E: simon.dhaenens@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC 02 Daphne Vermin

Daphné Vermin

Specialised Assistant Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit
ECOOM assistant

- Data analysis and reporting
- University rankings
- Financial codes

T: 011 26 80 47
E: daphne.vermin@uhasselt.be

2022 Evy Neyens

Evy Neyens

ECOOM Researcher Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- FRIS research portal
- Metadata standards & classifications
- Information modelling
- Semantic interoperability
- Interdisciplinarity

T: 011 26 91 88
E: evy.neyens@uhasselt.be

2022 Son Hoang Pham

Son Hoang Pham

ECOOM researcher Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- Indicator development
- Interdisciplinarity

T: 011 26 85 82
E: hoangson.pham@uhasselt.be

Tamara Araboeli

Tamara Araboeli

ECOOM Researcher Information Management and Strategic Data Analysis Unit

- FRIS research portal
- Metadata standards & classifications
- Information modelling
- Semantic interoperability

T: 011 26 84 74
E: tamara.araboeli@uhasselt.be

Internationalisation Unit

2019 DOC DIOS 34 Leen Lambrechts

Leen Lambrechts

Coordinator Internationalisation Unit

- Funding for research mobility
- Funding for (research) networks

T: 011 26 90 43
E: leen.lambrechts@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC 54 Sara Schaeken

Sara Schaeken

Staff Member Internationalisation Unit


- Global Minds
- ICP/ITP

T: 011 26 85 76
E: sara.schaeken@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC DIOS 17 Niels Lambrichts

Niels Lambrichts

Staff Member Internationalisation Unit

- Reception policy
- Student mobility (VLUHR-grants)

T: 011 26 90 82
E: niels.lambrichts@uhasselt.be

2022 OBI Liesbeth Oeyen

Liesbeth Oeyen

Staff Member Internationalisation Unit

- Projectfunding Erasmus+
- Development Cooperation VLIR-UOS (IUS projects)

T: 011 26 80 66
E: liesbeth.oeyen@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC DIOS 60 Laurien Stuvers

Laurien Stuvers

Staff Member Internationalisation Unit

- Student mobility
- Exchange database
- International marketing

T: 011 26 90 09
E: laurien.stuvers@uhasselt.be

2022 Eva Conjaerts

Eva Conjaerts

Assistant Internationalisation Unit

- Support VLIR-UOS projects
- Support VLUHR-grants
- General administrative and logistic support service

T: 011 26 89 79
E: eva.conjaerts@uhasselt.be

2022 Brigitta Bijloos

Brigitta Bijloos

Assistant Internationalisation Unit

- Support Global Minds
- Exchange Database
- General administrative and logistic support service

T: 011 26 90 72
E: brigitta.bijloos@uhasselt.be

2022 OBI Kim Vekemans

Kim Vekemans

Assistant Internationalisation Unit

  • Support VLIR-UOS projects
  • General administrative and logistic support service

T: 011 26 92 21
E: kim.vekemans@uhasselt.be

2022 Stefanie Commeene

Stefanie Commeene

Assistant Internationalisation Unit


- Assistant Internationalisation & Development Cooperation Unit
- Support International Office
- Reception policy

T: 011 26 81 77
E: stefanie.commeene@uhasselt.be 

Saba Vakili

Saba Vakili

Assistant Internationalisation Unit


E: saba.vakili@uhasselt.be

University Library Unit

2022 Pieter Lernhout

Pieter Lernout

Coordinator University Library Unit

- E-sources
- Acquisition
- Communication
- Information skills
- Website

T: 011 26 81 28
E: pieter.lernout@uhasselt.be

2022 Ulrike Kenens

Ulrike Kenens

Staff Member University Library Unit

- Research data management

T: 011 26 89 82
E: ulrike.kenens@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC BIB Philippe Speelmans 02

Philip Speelmans

Staff Member University Library Unit

- Catalography architecture
- Information specialist Architecture and Art
- Information skills
- Inventory academic heritage

T: 011 29 21 08
E: philip.speelmans@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC BIB An Baeten 06

An Baeten

Assistant University Library Unit

- General administration
- Billing
- Acquisition paper collection
- Interlibrary loan

T: 011 26 81 27
E: an.baeten@uhasselt.be

2023 Sylwia Joniec

Sylwia Joniec

Assistant University Library Unit

- Institutional repository

T: 011 26 81 27
E: an.baeten@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC BIB Mercedes Casas 04

Mercedes Casas

Assistant University Library Unit

- Catalography university library Diepenbeek

T: 011 26 81 20
E: mercedes.casas@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC BIB Hilde Cleeren 12

Hilde Cleeren

Assistant University Library Unit

- Institutional repository
- Open access
- Information skills

T: 011 26 90 77
E: hilde.cleeren@uhasselt.be

2023 Leen Nijs

Leen Nijs

Assistant University Library Unit

- Reception university library Diepenbeek
- Magazine administration
- UHasselt in the newspapers
- Notifications

T: 011 26 81 23

E: leen.nijs@uhasselt.be

2019 DOC BIB Joke Krznaric 07

Joke Krznaric

Assistant University Library Unit

- Catalography Law

T: 011 26 81 21
E: joke.krznaric@uhasselt.be

2022 Eline Schoeters

Eline Schoeters

Staff Member University Library Unit

- Institutional repository
- Open access
- Information skills
- Copyright

T: 011 26 8122
E: eline.schoeters@uhasselt.be

2022 Hanne Vlietinck

Hanne Vlietinck

Assistant University Library Unit

- Research data management

T: 011 26 80 48
E: hanne.vlietinck@uhasselt.be

Dirk Schoenaers

Staff Member University Library Unit

- E-resources: acquisition & access
- Technical tools & website
- Communication
- Information skills
- Inventory academic heritage

T: 011 26 81 24
E: dirk.schoenaers@uhasselt.be